Pinning Ceremony Honors Spring 2024 Nursing Graduates

June 4, 2024

Borough of Manhattan Community College (BMCC/CUNY) celebrated 65 graduates from the Nursing program’s Spring Class of 2024 during an afternoon pinning ceremony on May 30 in Theatre One at 199 Chambers Street.

Dressed in crisp white uniforms, the graduates stepped in measured unison to their designated seats in the middle of the auditorium all the while pomp and circumstance played over the theatre’s speakers.  Family, friends and significant others—some with musical shakers and celebratory horns— cheered them on.

Nursing Department Chairperson Dr. Linda Washington-Brown welcomed the audience and introduced graduate Maxine Roberts, who performed a stirring rendition of the National Anthem, a cappella.

In the weeks to come, the graduates from the Spring Class of 2024 will sit for the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN). Upon passing the rigorous test, they will be in high-demand on the local job market. New York is projected to face a shortage of nearly 40,000 registered nurses according to the state’s Department of Health.

During his welcoming remarks, Dr. Anthony E. Munroe, BMCC President encouraged the graduates to never stop learning and embrace the opportunity that awaits them.

“As you embark on this new chapter in your lives, I urge you to carry with you, the values you have learned here, remember that nursing is not merely a job, but a calling, a responsibility to care for others with dignity, respect and compassion,” said President Munroe. “As you enter the healthcare field, you will face challenges, but the rewards will pay dividends.”

During her congratulatory remarks, Dr. Washington-Brown encouraged the graduates to mentor the next generation of nurses.

“Don’t ever forget, when you’re on the floor, and you have students, always remember what it was like when you needed a nurse to give you the guidance, the support so that you could be here today,” said Dr. Washington-Brown.

The event also featured remarks from Dr. Erwin Wong, BMCC Provost and Senior Vice President, Dr. Marva Craig, Vice President for Student Affairs and Dr. Janice Zummo, Associate Dean of Academic Support Services who all congratulated the graduates.

The 2024 President of the BMCC Nursing Club Lawrence Shulman introduced keynote speaker Dr. Ronnie Ursin, who during his 20-year nursing career has served in a number of senior leadership roles at medical institutions including USMD Hospital in Arlington,Texas.

“I graduated 20 years ago and have had a very prosperous and rewarding nursing career, from a beginning at an oncology unit at Kaiser Permanente in 2004, to my first nursing leadership role as a director in 2006 to taking my first President and CEO position at a hospital in Pennsylvania in 2017,” said Dr. Ursin. “Today, consider what your future as a professional nurse looks like, I encourage you to not only think about yourself, but how you can contribute to the community of nursing.”

Echoing Dr. Washington-Brown’s earlier statements, Dr. Ursin encouraged the class of 2024, to always give back to nurses as they move on in their careers.

“Do not forget about the time when you needed a competent and skilled nurse to teach you how to conduct patient care, take care of your newer colleagues,” said Dr. Ursin. “Give back to BMCC, you can give your time and talent.”

In addition to the traditional pinning of the graduates, the lighting of the lamps and recitation of the nurses’ pledge led by Professor Josephine Britanico, the ceremony featured graduate reflections from Olivia Matson, Kimberly Thomas and Frank Holmes.

The event also closed with a special presentation from Nursing Professor Dr. Catherine Mbewe and remarks from Dr. Washington-Brown.

BMCC Nursing Spring 2024 Graduates:

Kevin Ahn, Mobisayo Omolara Akinsuyi, Joel Alonso, Donald Okechukwu Amam, Katherine Ascazubi, Muhammed Hamza Ashfaq,  Rhea H. Balonkita, Kereen Backford, Joshua Cabrera, Sarah-Ann Celestincuest, Audresha Curtis-Burrell, ,Aminata Diop, Anastasiia Espinoza, Kayla Nicole Figuera, ,Malgorzata Zuzanna Flis, Kelly Genao, Karma D. Ghale, Samantha Gray, Jabriya Heckstall, Jeniel Anita Henry, Daniel D. Hernandez, Mose Frank Holmes Jr. , Favour Uzoamaka Ibeawuchi, Joshua A. James, Nur Jannat, Cynthia Jeanty, Rehan Zaib Khan, Iuliia Krupska, Nicholas Anthony Kumar, Henry Lee, Huiming Lei, Nina Litvinova, Jeffry M. Lopez, Nereida Malave, Olivia Matson, Hilda M. Mclean, Rochelle L. Mcmichael, Stephanie Melo, Jihyun Min, Dioris F. Molina, Menachem Mendel Newfield, Sophia Nguyen, Louinne Ann B Nicdao, Chioma Dominica Nwoke, Queenette Adaobi Okwaraji, Destiny L. Patterson, Elizabeth Rose Poole, Dna L. Portnoy, Aneycia Richards, Maxine Roberts, Millisa Rosenblum, Nurdina Ruchko, Amy Elaine Santana, Crystal Saw, Lawrence Shulman, Miriam Zara Siddiq, Charisse R Simpson, Sara A. Sirio Martinez, Kyounglin Song, Sherifat Omowunmi Spencer, Kimberly Ann Thomas, Lektso,Xxx Thupten, Sherry Vega, Tiffany A. Weston and Yan Zhu.


2024 Special Award Winners

Anastasiia Espinoza, Academic Excellence
Henry Lee Academic Excellence
Amy Elaine Santana Academic Excellence
Elizabeth Rose Poole Professional Development
Dana L Portnoy Professional Development
Crystal Saw Professional Development
Charisse R Simpson, Professional Development
Mobisayo Omolara Akinsuyi Humanitarian
Katherine Ascazubi Humanitarian
Jihyun Min Humanitarian
Muhammed Hamza Ashfaq Best-All-Around Student
Nicholas Anthony Kumar Best-All-Around Student
Aneycia Richards Best-All-Around Student
Zaib Khan Rehan Aubrey T. Robinson
Malgorzata Zuzanna Flis Silvia Vincent Corliss
Kimberly Ann Thomas Silvia Vincent Corliss
Lawrence Shulman Leadership Award
  • Story Highlights
  • Upon completion of NCLEX exams, the nurses will enter a high-demand job market
  • Ceremony includes pinning, lamp lighting and recitation of nurses’ pledge
  • Keynote speaker Dr. Ronnie Ursin encourages graduates to give back

share this story »