Skip to Content

Reception Celebrates Tenured and Promoted Faculty

Recently tenured and promoted faculty at reception in Shirley Fiterman Art Center
Recently tenured and promoted faculty at reception in Shirley Fiterman Art Center
September 29, 2017

The Borough of Manhattan Community College (BMCC/CUNY) community celebrated recently tenured and promoted faculty at a reception on September 28 in the Shirley Fiterman Art Center.

BMCC President Antonio Pérez and Provost and Senior Vice President Karrin E. Wilks hosted the event, which is part of the college's ongoing efforts to recognize faculty achievement.

“We are here to celebrate not just accomplishments, but milestones such as gaining tenure and becoming a permanent part of the fabric of BMCC,” President Pérez said in his opening remarks.

“We think it is an important part of our cycle of rituals not just to congratulate you but to thank you,” Provost Wilks told the audience. “Reaching this point in your academic careers is a testament to your excellence in teaching, your commitment to our students, your pedagogical leadership, scholarship and research.”

Before the event closed, BMCC Professor of Art Thaddeus Radell gave remarks in honor of his colleague, Charles McGill, who passed away in July 2017 and would have been among those honored at the reception. “Charles McGill was colossal not only in the physical sense, but in the sense that he was a key member of our faculty, very serious about his art, and really devoted to his teaching,” Radell said. “His students loved him.”

Newly tenured and promoted faculty

Joel Barker and Achraf Seyam, Accounting;

Shoba Bandi-Rao, Heather Finn, Shane McConnell, Rosario Torres and Oksana Vorobel, Academic Literacy and Linguistics;

Yan Chen and Hao Tang, CIS;

Margaret Barrow and Kelly Secovnie, English;

Lisa Grace, Gloria McNamara and Yuliya Shneydermann, Health Education;

Charles McGill, Howard Meltzer and Joyce Moorman, Music and Art;

David Allen, Barbara Lawrence, Christopher McCarthy and Hong Yuan, Mathematics;

George Stevenson, Media Arts and Technology;

Silvia Alvarez-Olarra, Sophie Marinez, John Thomas Means, Alicia Perdomo, Silvia Roig and Lisa Sarti, Modern Languages;

Edna Asknes, Nursing;

Alexander Gosslau, Adolfina Koroch, Jun Liang, Kibrewossen Tesfagiorgis, Lauren Wiskstrom, Chiaki Yanagisawa, Hasan Yumak and Shengkun Zhang, Science;

Sheldon Applewhite, Peter Bratsis, Marci Littlefield, Maria Pagan-Rivera, Kelly Rodgers and Amy Sodaro, Social Sciences, Human Services and Criminal Justice;

Bertha Ferdman, Bejamin Haas and Christopher Jackson, Speech, Communications and Theatre Arts;

Rebecca Garte and Jean Plaisir, Teacher Education.


Faculty resources related to high-impact learning practices, e-learning, research projects, internal grants and other areas can be found on the BMCC Faculty Affairs page.






share this story »


  • BMCC community celebrates recently tenured and promoted faculty
  • A reception in Shirley Fiterman Art Center recognized each faculty member among the Center's latest exhibit, The Roaming Eye
  • Recognizing faculty achievement is an ongoing priority at BMCC

share this story »