Skip to Content

2014 BMCC Poetry Contest

2015 BMCC Poetry Contest

Deadline: March 9, 2015
How to Enter:
In print: Place submissions in boxes in the Developmental Skills Dept (N499) or English Dept (N751), or Writing Center (S510).
Online: e-mail submission as a PDF or MS Word file to
Please write “2015 BMCC Poetry Contest” in the subject line of e-mail submissions.
Prizes: Three prizes will be awarded at a Poetry Day event to be held in the Richard Harris Terrace on Thursday, April 30, 2015 at 12pm. Awards will be for individual poems, not submissions as a whole. No poet will win more than one prize.
Length & Formatting: Submit up to three poems. Each poem must fit on one page. The poet’s name should not appear on the poems.
Cover sheet: Include a cover sheet with the name of the poet, e-mail address of the poet, and the titles of the poems in the submission.
Eligibility: Only students enrolled at BMCC for the Spring 2015 semester may enter.

2014 BMCC Poetry Contest Winners:

1st Place: Olivia Cieri for “Untitled”
2nd Place: Kyle Fraser for “tiny stomachs”
3rd Place: Katherine Godoy for “If I Could Write in the Dark”

2014 BMCC Poetry Contest Finalists:

Rosh Bennabi
Josue Caceras
Ruben Tyler Delgado
Kimberly Fonseca
Jemima Alice Kadima
Brandon Korosh
Kaeela Mitchell
Janades Munoz
Alliya Onuoha
Jacelyn Sarmiento
AbdulAleem Seyed
Michael Vittoria

Final Judge:

Nomi Stone

2013 BMCC Poetry Contest Winners:

1st Place: Fariha Chowdhury for “Unlit Screams”
2nd Place: Edward Rivera for “The Attic Mouse”
3rd Place: Chad Ayers for “The Father”

2013 BMCC Poetry Contest Finalists:

Maxwell Donnewald
Shandana Dwarika-Ajaz
Zenas Gallion
Brandon Korosh
David Loaiza
Edward Rivera
Michael Skomsky

Final Judge:

Eduardo C. Corral is the author of Slow Lightning, selected by Carl Phillips as the 2011 winner of the Yale Series of Younger Poets competition. He holds degrees from Arizona State University and the Iowa Writers' Workshop. His poems have appeared in Best American Poetry 2012, Beloit Poetry Journal, Huizache, Jubilat, New England Review, Ploughshares, Poetry, Poetry Northwest, and Quarterly West. His work has been honored with a "Discovery"/The Nation Award, the J. Howard and Barbara M. J. Wood Prize from Poetry, and writing residencies to the MacDowell Colony and Yaddo. He has served as the Olive B. O'Connor Fellow in Creative Writing at Colgate University and as the Philip Roth Resident in Creative Writing at Bucknell University. The recipient of a Whiting Writers' Award and a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, he currently lives in New York City, teaching at Columbia University in the spring 2013.

2012 BMCC Poetry Contest Winners:

1st Place: Thomas Walker for “Origami”
2nd Place: Ricci Niles for “A Paradise Lost”
3rd Place: Jennifer Abreu for “Daddy”

2012 BMCC Poetry Contest Finalists:

Paula Barbosa
Ninoska Granados
Lee Andrew Johnson, Jr.
Elizabeth Miller
Noura Mohamed
Vanessa Reyes
Malorie Torres

Final Judge:

Roger Sedarat

BMCC Writing Center

Front Desk (General Information)
(212) 220-1384

Franklin Winslow, Director
(212) 220-8000 x5167

Mailing Address
BMCC Writing Center
Borough of Manhattan Community College, CUNY
199 Chambers Street, Room S510
New York, NY 10007

Hours of Operation Spring ​2018
(January 29 – May 24)

10:00am – 8:00pm
10:00am – 5:00pm
10:00am – 5:00pm